Abstraction – Man’s Struggle

This is a tongue-in-cheek piece.  A few of my friends and I always make fun of that pretentious abstract art that is a blob on a field of color but claims to revere the pain of hunger in Africa.  Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t get it. I can get on board with technique, color theory, composition and pretty much anything else that comes across artistically, but it does take a lot for me to grasp how hunger translates to a yellow dot on a purple canvas.

And so, here is my answer to that: “Man’s Struggle.”  I could go on and one and say that blue is for the man and the red is for the sea of anger in which he exists in the world, and his struggle comes from the visual tension created by the border between the two colors.  But I’m not.  I made this piece specifically to be an artistic smart aleck.  So sue me.

Leave a Reply

