Abstraction: The Other Mother

This piece was inspired by reading Neil Gaiman’s children’s book, Coraline

Part of my artistic journey this past year has been to tackle a Project 365 — a project where you complete a certain task every day for a year.  Personally, I begin my 365’s on my birthday each year.  This year’s project involves “Doodle-a-Day,” which is my challenge to draw or doodle something every day and post it to a Facebook album.  One of the focuses of that project was to work on my ability to represent faces / people.  People are notoriously difficult, especially to create a likeness, and I just needed a good reason to practice.

Here, then, is one of my people sketches. “The Other Mother.”

Created in ArtRage on iPad with Nomad Brush.

Leave a Reply

