Self Portrait

There is a great tradition amongst artists of creating the self portrait.  Why? Who better to practice your techniques on than yourself? You’re always available. All you need is a mirror and bam! You’re set up and ready to go.  No trying to find a model, no constant reposing because the model twitched, no surprise day of painting ruined because your model didn’t show up.  You’re the model. You’re there, raring to go. 

Now, you may not enjoy looking at yourself with such scrutiny.  Hence the abstract portrait, where you can claim a yellow circle with  a red Z crossed over it truly represents your “portrait.”  That wouldn’t be the first time!

I personally cannot stand to look at myself like that. I despise photographs of me.  However, I will always defend the educational value of a self-portrait.  So, here it is.

This one is about a year old.  There’s no rhyme or reason for the background.  It was fun and mod.  I often have been told I look good in red.  And of course there is that whole vampire phenomenon going around currently… something about Twilight? </sarcasm here>  So that’s why I have red eyes.  Apparently my painted doppleganger has feasted upon some A- recently.

Created in Sketchbook Pro with iPad.

Leave a Reply

