I am a Maker of Things.

I read in a book once a passage that goes like this:

“Ever since she was a little girl, she’d had a compulsion to make things:
Paintings, poems, mittens, kites.
She had a deep love of creation, of watching a blank canvas take on color and form,
a length of yarn twist and knot into a knitted cap.
When she went to the sea, she made sandcastles. 
When she was housebound by a snowstorm, she made snowmen. 
When the wind whipped her hair across her face, she made kites. 
She didn’t think of herself as an artist or craftswoman.
She simply considered herself a maker of things.”

And I have never, ever found another phrasing that quite fit how I feel about who I am and what it is I do.  Thanks, Janet Evanovich, for such wonderful words.

“Eye of the Beholder” – Created in ASketch on iPad.

One thought on “I am a Maker of Things.

Leave a Reply

