Melty Goodness!

Hello, loyal readers! So sorry for the absence – finals week at grad school is always life consuming. 🙂

Found some inspiration on pinterest this weekend and threw together a quick project. As I’m writing this from my iPhone, this is going to be brief, but I’ll elaborate later when I get back to my Mac. 🙂

Enjoy!

20120512-230526.jpg

So how do you accomplish such lovely Melty goodness? Gather up a canvas, some crayons, some tape and a new hot glue gun, and let’s have some fun!

Step 1. Find/buy lots of crayons. And by “lots” aim for at least a box of 64. Melted, crayons are surprisingly tiny.

Step 2. Peel off the wrappers. This can be done by hand or by using an exacto knife to slit the paper to help it remove more easily. (Save the papers. I’m thinking there’s a craft project in their somewhere!)

20120513-001005.jpg

And this point in my class, the discussion would go something like this:
Me: Class, what is this?
Class: an exacto knife!
Me: and what do we know about exacto knives?
Class: they’re sharp!
Me: so what are you going to do with them?
Class: not act stupid!

I have the best kids 🙂

20120513-001121.jpg

So now after peeling by whatever means necessary, you have this:

20120513-001438.jpg

Step 3. Prepare your canvas. I used an 8×24 prestreched store bought canvas, but if you’re feeling fancy, you can make your own. To prepare my canvas, I measured and taped off a 1/2″ border using tape (I used duct tape because I had it in the house, but you can use masking or painters tape).

20120513-001743.jpg

20120513-001828.jpg

20120513-001916.jpg

Step 4. The glue gun. I have tried both Low temp and hot temp glue guns on these kinds of projects, and each has their pros and cons. I’ll get into the specifics later. But for this particular step, all you need to know is that you really need a new glue gun dedicated to this type of craft. You don’t want to reuse one that already has glue in it, and you don’t want to use this for anything but crayons after.
“New” gun does not have to be expensive. It can be a cheap one! Also go for ye kind that holds mini sized glue sticks. The barrel is approximately the same size as the crayons.

20120513-002427.jpg

* UPDATE *

And hence why I should finish blog articles before synching my phone… I have since misplaced the rest of the instructions for this blog somewhere in cyberspace… So, I’m going to have to write a “Melty Goodness, Part 2” post to explain the rest of this project and retake the photos of the processes.  (Technology is wonderful when I know how to use it!)

One thought on “Melty Goodness!

Leave a Reply

