Anatomy of a Photo

In this post, I am going to show the process I go through when I’m using my cell phone to take an artistic photo.

I use two apps to take my photos, if I know I’m going to be trying to take an artistic shot and if I have the luxury of time. (Some photos I’d like to capture are split-second, so I don’t use this full process.  But, if I have my druthers, this is what I do.)  The first app I use is the regular Camera app on my iPhone.  This lets me quickly take the picture, check the composition, do any tweaking with still lives / location if necessary, and basically arrange my photo.   The second app I use is, of course, Hipstamatic.

Today’s photo journey is sponsored by Happy Hour at my local martini bar, the beautiful early summer weather, and their outdoor patio.

First, here is where I was:

Just a plain shot of the location.

Then, I tried a few shots to get a more pleasing composition:

Composition attempt #1

Composition attempt #2

Now that I know I like playing with the angle of the fence and the reflection in the martini, I use Hipstamatic to fine to the shot:

Option 1 and 2 use the Adler 9009 lens, which creates lovely washed out photos. I tried two different films: Salvador and Ina’s 1969, but they still look too light to me.

Final Shot: Option 3.  Libatique 73 burns the shadows in the photo more strongly, which I like, and Ina’s 1969 film keeps the colors in a pleasing range. The fence forms a strong lead-line down to the other beer bottles and the hanging flower pot. Overall, it just feels the most balanced (to me) and has the color contrast I was going for.

The final shot – lights and darks have great contrast, the fence gives a nice lead line, the martini shines against the shadows. All in all, I’m pleased!

 

One thought on “Anatomy of a Photo

Leave a Reply

