Weekend Project: Knit Lace Mesh Bag

We continue the saga of Candice learning to knit with the introduction of… Double pointed needles (dpn).

I’ve spent the last two days working on a knit lace mesh reusable shopping tote. I found the pattern on Ravelry: The Grrlfriend Market bag by Laura Spradlin. It is a quick knit and great for beginners, because it uses mostly simple stitches including knit, purl, k2tog, yarn over, and cast off purl wise. That’s it!

20130105-230440.jpg

The dpn’s come into play because this bag is worked from the bottom up, in the round. Laura’s instructions are easy to follow and I loved the story of how she came up with the pattern.

For my bag, I used size 6 dpn’s, size 7 – 16″ circular needles, and size 10 – 16″circular needles. I used about 100 grams of Lily’s Sugar and Cream cotton yarn, worsted weight. I also had scissors and a yarn needle on hand for finishing.

I loved this project and look forward to making another! The bag stretches a LOT due to the lace pattern, and as this was my first time doing such a thing, when I remake the bag I’ll know better how to adjust for the stretch. Personally, I will make the strap shorter because it stretches out as you load the bag, and I also think I will make the base a big larger before starting the net, and also make the bag taller in the net before I start the top color band. But overall I’m very pleased with how this turned out. I can see using this little bag for quick trips to the farmers market in the summer. 🙂

Enjoy the photos of this fun project!

Here we go… Starting out with the dpn’s. eek!

20130105-231245.jpg

Well, so far so good…

20130105-231326.jpg

Fast forward about four hours… (I don’t know if this should really take 4 hours. Remember, I’m just learning!) This is the point where you switch from dpn’s to circular needles to start the mesh.

20130105-231428.jpg

And fast forward again to the next day, working on the bag and checking for stretch…

20130105-231547.jpg

Here’s a look at the inside of the bag, holding it up to the light so you can see the pattern…

20130105-231610.jpg

And the finished product, loaded with yarn for the next project!

20130105-231720.jpg

Leave a Reply

